Celebrating fifty years of the Senior School
Mar 01, 2017
2017 marks fifty years since the opening of our Senior School campus at Athelstone.
Saint Ignatius’ College originally opened as an all-boys school in 1951 in Norwood. In less than 10 years, 45 boys had swelled to 391 and it was likely that numbers would continue to grow. In 1963 the site at Athelstone was selected for the senior campus and by 1964 an initial purchase of 50 acres was made. Over the years, further adjoining properties were purchased and many trees were planted to give the campus the picturesque appeal it has today.
Classes commenced at the Senior School campus in February 1967 with 228 students present. Today there are 833 students on campus.Read the story published in the East Torrens Messenger here