Skip to main content

Easter Services at the Chapel of the Holy Name, Athelstone:

  • 2nd April Palm Sunday 9.00am
  • 6th April Thursday 7.00pm Mass of Last Supper
  • 7th April Friday 10.00am Stations of the Cross
  • 7th April Friday 3.00pm Veneration of the Cross
  • 8th April Saturday 7.00pm Easter Vigil
  • 9th April Sunday 9.00am Easter Sunday

Easter Services at St Ignatius' Parish, Norwood:

  • 6th April Thursday 7.00pm Mass of the Lord's supper
  • 7th April Friday 11.000am Stations of the Cross
  • 7th April Friday 3.00pm Passion & death of Our Lord
  • 8th April Saturday 7.00pm Easter Vigil
  • 9th April Sunday 8.30 & 10.00am Easter Sunday

Saint Francis of Assisi Newton

  • 6th April Thursday 7.00pm Mass of the Lord's Supper (Bilingual Eng-Ita)
  • 7th April Friday 10.00am Stations of the Cross
  • 7th April Friday 3.00pm Passion of the Lord (Bilingual Eng-Ita)
  • 7th April Friday 7.00pm Via Crucis (Italian)
  • 8th April Saturday 7.30pm Easter Vigil (Bilingual Eng-Ita)
  • 9th April Sun 9.00am English Mass
  • 9th April Sun 11.00am Italian Mass

Christians observe several special days during the Easter season to commemorate important events in the life of Jesus Christ. Palm Sunday celebrates Jesus' triumphal entry into Jerusalem, where people waved palm branches to welcome him. Palm Sunday is marked by the blessing and distribution of palm branches. The liturgy includes the reading of the Passion narrative, which recounts the events leading up to Jesus' crucifixion.

On Holy Thursday, Christians remember the Last Supper of Jesus Christ with his apostles. The Holy Thursday Mass includes the washing of the feet of people, symbolizing Jesus washing the feet of his apostles. The Mass concludes with the procession of the Blessed Sacrament to the altar of repose.

Good Friday is a day of remembrance when Christians reflect on the death of Jesus Christ. Many Christians choose to fast or reflect on their actions on this day. The Stations of the Cross in the morning is a devotion that involves following the path of Jesus Christ from his condemnation to his crucifixion. This devotion can be prayed on any day of Lent. The Stations consist of 14 images that depict scenes from the Passion of Christ and are usually found in Catholic churches.

The Veneration of the Cross at 3.00pm is a liturgical service that commemorates the crucifixion of Jesus Christ. During this service, the cross is presented to the congregation for reverence. The service concludes with the distribution of Communion.

The Easter Vigil on Saturday evening is a most important celebration of the Easter season. During this liturgical service, a new fire is kindled and the Paschal Candle is lit. The Paschal Candle is then processed into the church, and the Liturgy of the Word follows, consisting of readings from the Old and New Testaments that recount salvation history. The Liturgy of Baptism follows, where new converts are baptized, and the Mass concludes with the Liturgy of the Eucharist.

Finally, on Easter Sunday, Christians celebrate the Resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead. This day is a most significant day of the liturgical year for Christians, and it is a celebration of new life and hope. During the Mass, the Gospel account of the Resurrection is read, and the faithful renew their baptismal promises. The liturgy is often marked with music and decorations, and families typically gather for a festive meal.

P&F - Junior School Events
Project Compassion Appeal